Tasks

Feeling a little better, and sorting some of the car-fuffle, so hopefully that’ll just get all sorted over the next few weeks and I can try my best to get some project stuff done and these deadlines completed.

Not long home from doing a mix of necessities and planning for an up and coming wedding for the Quartet, this evening, I have started on looking at the original manuscripts of Bach’s Solo Sonata & Partitas for Violin and just listening to them all the way through to get a feeling of how they each sound and character.

I still haven’t decided what movement/movements I will be doing, as a lot will entail on what I can achieve with mainly

  1. Technique
  2. Time Constraints

Will be organising a meeting with Gavin, sound engineer very soon (which was meant to happen Monday – but I wasn’t feeling well) and together we will have a discuss on steps and looking at venues and having a chat about what we are both looking for in each other – as we are both doing personal projects.

Hoping to organise some meetings with some professionals through my previous experience with the RSNO team so I hope to get some email responses on that soon and I will have chance to talk with their orchestral librarian later this week.

I really love the G minor Sonata and I have done areas of the D minor Partita, B minor Partita and the E major Partita.  I will look at the strengths of each and summarise my thoughts in the morning.

Next tasks will be to analysis the score in comparison to modern Urtext – which I have ordered – as my current copy of the work I use are in a French style of playing which is relevant to talk about but to capture PURE interpretation – I would prefer the original intentions laid by Bach.

I will look deep into the notation of Bach’s score and compare to the standardisation of notation – this is something I will talk about in dissertation and will influence how I will be able to pull of these pieces.

Leave a comment