Recording methods

So as part of meeting one of my objectives “produce a set of variable recordings that evoke the use of authentic methods in contrast to contemporary methods of practice”, I need to have an awareness of the equipment that I will be using for the recording.  I’m not sure if I have said already but I will be working with Gavin McDougall, a student at Glasgow Caledonian University – in his honours year too doing a project (see more here).  He is trying to produce recordings with keep to the traditions of natural based recording and finding spaces that compliment the production.  He is looking to break the barrier of studio based recording and taking modern recording to be natural based to produce best ambience.  Our ideas co-inside as I am wanting to produce recordings that are as aesthetic to the style (baroque) and we seem to be on board with plans to meet up and do the recordings.  It is quite simple for him to get on with the recordings himself and I to practice for the recordings (haven’t chosen what pieces yet).

We have taken note of the equipment that he will be using for this.

  • Apple MacBook Pro
  • Avid Protools 11
  • 2 channel audio interface
  • a diaphram condensor microphone
  • zoom audio recorder (room/ambient microphone)

He will be using these sets of microphones because they are multi-functional for his project and has used them before.

The specific microphones he will be using is an Cardioid Capacitor Microphone (AT 3035)

Audio Technica AT3035
Audio Technica AT3035

This mic works well in real-life situations, its also inexpensive for a large-diaphragm condenser mic and is good at recording violin.  Form recording back in the HND I remember placement was one of the most important factors (more so than the mic used).  I remember placing the mic over the my left shoulder-which wasn’t in my way, and also yielded a mellower tone.

He also mentioned he may use a SE Electronics X1 condenser microphone – as he has one himself.  Again like the AT, its good for capturing that natural essence – ideal for acoustical recording techniques.

SE Electronics X1 Condensor Microphone
SE Electronics X1 Condensor Microphone

From what I remember If you want the violin to cut through the mix and sound a bit more modern, I’d use a small diaphragm condenser (possibly a used ATM450 or like what Gavin has suggested which he has access to)

For a more ‘vintage’ sound or for violin tracks that sit better in a mix, a good ribbon mic is a possibility.  I haven’t had direct experience with any and remember my lecturer mentioning Cascade mics but will have a more detailed chat with Gavin when we meet face to face.  Theres not a lot we can do till I have learnt what I will be playing.

I’ve also had a think about other mics that would be ideal for this set up of having something overhead – which I may consider buying for myself. (for the moment I will just record via my iPhone for practice and such.

Had a look into the MiC 96K.

MiC 96K Condensor Mic
MiC 96K Condensor Mic

This Apogee product is a studio quality cardioid condenser microphone, which I can just plug in to a Mac device and record.  It is designed for vocal and acoustic instrument recording and is good for recording interviews, podcasts, voice overs, and audio for DSLR video. (which is all ideal for my project objectives and portfolios.  It also works with GarageBand.

My only issue is, I do not have a mac, however, my packard bell notebook is going to be replaced by a MacBook Pro so once I get some money together I will get the MacBook and see how funds take me to purchase this microphone.  I will also have a chat with Gavin and see what he thinks – as I’m sure he can recommend the most suitable thing for me personally.

Obviously in terms of the project, this will be a learning curve, as I don’t have much experience in Recording so as part of the process in semester 2, I am sure I will learn a lot from the experience and pick into Gavin’s recording head brain.

The pictures below shows roughly the set up I will be most likely following for the recording set up.  Again this will be decided nearer the time and with some discussions with Gavin, which hoping to have soon.

Mic set up above player
Mic set up above player

 mic_violin04

7 thoughts on “Recording methods

    1. thank you, I did do a module in recording and know a little about the basics at least, obviously with the tackling of performance it seemed at best to pair with someone who is looking to do the same things which is why I am collaborating with someone who can deal with the ProTool aspect of things.

      Like

Leave a comment